The Hippocrates Society - Brigham and Women's Hospital

L-R: Ron M. Walls, MD, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Brigham Health; Elizabeth G. Nabel, MD, President, Brigham Health; Nawal M. Nour, MD, MPH, 2014 Hippocrates Society Humanitarian Award recipient; and Robert L. Barbieri, MD, Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

The Hippocrates Society recognizes the important role of our faculty in philanthropy, and acknowledges that their moral and financial support is vital to the success of the hospital. The society honors current and former physicians and scientists, as well as alumni of Brigham and Women’s Hospital (BWH) and Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital (BWFH) who have made a significant philanthropic commitment to the hospitals they serve.

Admission into the society is granted to BWH/BWFH alumni, as well as clinical and research faculty who make a lifetime, cumulative philanthropic commitment of $10,000 or more.

Over the course of each year, Hippocrates Society members are recognized in a number of different ways. In addition to receiving acknowledgement of their gift in the form of a letter and a phone call, members receive a variety of offerings:

  • Membership pin commensurate with their giving level upon joining the Hippocrates Society
  • Invitation to annual Humanitarian Award Reception
  • Listing on donor wall at Brigham and Women’s Hospital
  • Recognition in annual honor roll publication
  • Bi-annual issues of Brigham Health magazine and the Life.Giving.Breakthroughs. donor newsletter


To learn more about The Hippocrates Society, please contact Leigh Janczak, associate vice president of annual giving, at or 617-424-4254.

The Hippocrates Society Committee

Members of the committee serve as ambassadors for The Hippocrates Society by helping to expand awareness, recruit new members, and increase support. Members act as a leadership committee for all Hippocrates Society matters, such as events, newsletters, and possible solicitations.

  • Dale S. Adler, MD
  • Stanley W. Ashley, MD
  • Robert L. Barbieri, MD
  • Margaret M. Duggan, MD, FACS
  • Julie Glowacki, PhD
  • Jeffrey A. Golden, M.D.
  • Cynthia C. Morton, PhD
  • Marc A. Pfeffer, MD, PhD
  • Steven E. Seltzer, MD
  • Martin P. Solomon, MD
  • Thomas S. Thornhill, MD
  • Michael E. Weinblatt, MD
  • Marshall A. Wolf, MD

The Humanitarian Award

The society currently gathers annually to thank members for playing a vital role in its success and to present the Humanitarian Award, a distinction presented to colleagues who take action beyond their everyday role that enriches the local, national, and/or global community and improves the lives of others. The Humanitarian Award, launched in 2003, has been presented each year to 1-2 physicians who are voted upon and selected by their colleagues.

Photo L-R: Jerold S. Kayden; Stephanie Kayden, MD, MPH, 2016 Hippocrates Society Humanitarian Award recipient; and Elizabeth G. Nabel, MD, President, Brigham Health