The Brigham Hippocrates Society | Brigham and Women's Hospital

L-R: Dale Adler, MD, Executive Vice Chair, Department of Medicine; Lana Marsh; 2019 Brigham Hippocrates Society Humanitarian Award recipient, Regan Marsh, MD, MPH, Department of Emergency Medicine; Jeffrey Marsh; and Michael VanRooyen, MD, MPH, Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine.

The Brigham Hippocrates Society recognizes the important role of our faculty in philanthropy, and acknowledges that their financial support is vital to the success of the hospital. The society honors current and former physicians and scientists of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital who have made a cumulative philanthropic commitment of $10,000 or more to the hospitals they serve.

Over the course of each year, Brigham Hippocrates Society members are recognized in a number of different ways including:


To learn more about The Brigham Hippocrates Society, please contact Leigh Janczak, assistant vice president of annual giving, at or 617-424-4254.

The Brigham Hippocrates Society Committee

Members of the committee serve as ambassadors for The Brigham Hippocrates Society by helping to expand awareness, recruit new members, and increase support.

  • Dale S. Adler, MD, Chair
  • Stanley W. Ashley, MD
  • Robert L. Barbieri, MD
  • Giles Boland, MD, MPH
  • Ennio Chiocca, MD, PhD
  • Gerard Doherty, MD
  • Julie Glowacki, PhD
  • Daphne A. Haas-Kogan, MD
  • Terrie Inder, MD, MBChB
  • James Kang, MD
  • Cynthia C. Morton, PhD
  • Nawal Nour, MD, MPH
  • Marc A. Pfeffer, MD, PhD
  • Steven E. Seltzer, MD
  • Martin P. Solomon, MD
  • Valerie E. Stone, MD, MPH
  • Thomas S. Thornhill, MD
  • Michael VanRooyen, MD, MPH
  • Marshall A. Wolf, MD

The Humanitarian Award

The society gathers annually to thank members for playing a vital role in its success and to present the Humanitarian Award, a distinction presented to a colleague(s) who has taken action beyond their everyday role to enrich the local, national, and/or global community and improve the lives of others. The Humanitarian Award, launched in 2003, has been presented each year to 1-2 physicians who are voted upon and selected by their colleagues.

Regan H. Marsh, MD, MPH, 2019 Brigham Hippocrates Society Humanitarian Award recipient and Michael VanRooyen, MD, MPH, at the 2019 Humanitarian Award reception