The Hippocrates Society

The Hippocrates Society recognizes current and former physicians and scientists at Brigham and Women’s Hospital (BWH) and Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital (BWFH) who have made a cumulative lifetime philanthropic commitment of $10,000 or more in support of the hospitals. The society recognizes the important role of physicians and scientists in philanthropy, and acknowledges that their moral and financial support is vital to the success of the hospital.

Hippocrates Society logo


  • Cohn: $100,000 or more
  • Founder: $50,000 – $99,999
  • Patron: $25,000 – $49,999
  • Friend: $10,000 – $24,999





Contributing $167/month for the next five years will immediately make you a Hippocrates Society member.

Contributing $2,000/year for the next five years will also enable Hippocrates membership.
Click here to find out how to easily contribute through payroll deduction.

As your cumulative contributions grow, the level at which you are recognized changes accordingly. Members are encouraged to support BWH and BWFH annually by contributing to any fund(s) or purpose and by directing a portion of their contribution(s) to the President’s Unrestricted fund. Unrestricted giving ensures continued excellence in research, clinical care, training, and a broad spectrum of vital projects in the community. By fueling our greatest area of need, you make it possible to care for patients, discover new treatments, use the most advanced equipment, and educate the next generation of compassionate, highly-skilled medical professionals.

All members of the Hippocrates Society are listed on the Donor Wall in BWH's main lobby at 75 Francis St. An annual reception is held to recognize members and their spouses as well as to honor the recipient of the annual Humanitarian Award.

The Humanitarian Award

Each year, members of the Hippocrates Society present a Humanitarian Award to a BWH or BWFH physician or scientist in recognition of his or her contributions to the institution and the community. The winner of the 2015 Humanitarian Award is Mitchell Harris, MD, Chief of Orthopedic Trauma Services.

The Hippocrates Society Committee

Members of the committee serve as ambassadors for the Hippocrates Society by helping to expand awareness, recruit new members, and increase support. Members act as a leadership committee for all Hippocrates Society matters, such as events, newsletters, and possible solicitations.

Dale S. Adler, MD
Stanley W. Ashley, MD
Robert L. Barbieri, MD
Lawrence H. Cohn, MD
Margaret M. Duggan, MD, FACS
Julie Glowacki, PhD
Jeffrey A. Golden, M.D.
Cynthia C. Morton, PhD
Marc A. Pfeffer, MD, PhD
Steven E. Seltzer, MD
Martin P. Solomon, MD
Thomas S. Thornhill, MD
Ron M. Walls, MD
Michael E. Weinblatt, MD
Marshall A. Wolf, MD

For information on becoming a member of the Hippocrates Society or questions about your membership, please contact Leigh Janczak at or 617-424-4254