Brigham and Women’s Hospital Leadership

An esteemed group of medical, business, and philanthropic leaders guide the Brigham’s operations to fulfill the hospital’s mission to provide comprehensive care, push the boundaries of discovery, and train future medical leaders—all to serve patients and families in our local and global communities.

Our Presidents

David F. M. Brown, MD
President, Academic Medical Centers, Mass General Brigham
Mass General Trustees Professor of Emergency Medicine

Giles W.L. Boland, MD
President, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
President, Brigham and Women’s Physicians Organization
Executive Vice President, Mass General Brigham
Philip H. Cook Distinguished Professor of Radiology

Administrative Leadership

Erik K. Alexander, MD
Vice President, Education

Paul J. Anderson, MD, PhD
Chief Academic Officer, Mass General Brigham
Interim Chief Academic Officer and Senior Vice President, Research
K. Frank Austen Professor of Medicine

Lindsey Baden, MD
Vice President of Clinical Research

John Belknap
Chief Compliance Officer

Kerry Damon, MS
Vice President, Human Resources

Sonali Desai, MD, MPH
Senior Vice President; Chief Quality Officer

Katie Fillipon, DNP, RN, NEA-BC
Deputy Chief Nursing Officer and Vice President, Nursing and Patient Care Services

Sonal V. Gandhi, MUP
Vice President, Real Estate, Planning and Construction

Kevin Giordano, MBA, FACHE
Chief Operating Officer, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Chief Operating Officer, Brigham and Women’s Physicians Organization
President, Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital
Senior Vice President, Operations, Mass General Brigham

Anita Holbrook
Vice President, Human Resources/Operational Excellence for Nursing and Patient Care Services

Bernard Jones, EdM
Interim Senior Vice President, Clinical Services

Adam Landman, MD, MS, MIS, MHS
Vice President; Chief Information Officer; Digital Innovation Officer

Christina A. Lundquist, MHS
Senior Vice President, Clinical Services, Real Estate and Facility Operations

Julia Mason, DNP, MBA, RN, CENP
Chief Nursing Officer and Senior Vice President, Patient Care Services

Mallika Mendu, MD, MBA
Vice President, Clinical Operations and Care Continuum

Daniel Morash, MBA
Chief Financial Officer and Senior Vice President, Finance

Allison Moriarty, MPA
Senior Vice President, Research Planning & Operations and Innovation

Charles A. Morris, MD, MPH
Chief Medical Officer
Palandjian Family Distinguished Chair in Medicine

Ethan Parten, DHS, MBA
Vice President, Peri-Procedural Services

George Player, CPE, FMA
Vice President, Facilities and Operations

Susan Rapple, EdM
Senior Vice President; Chief Development Officer

Samantha Rowley, BSN, RN
Vice President, Perioperative Services

Scott Schissel, MD, PhD
Associate Chief Medical Officer and Vice President of Medical Affairs,
Brigham and Women’s Faulkner Hospital

Lori J. Schroth
Vice President, Strategic Communication

Julia Sinclair, MBA
Senior Vice President, Clinical Services

Paula Squires, MDA, SHRM-SCP, SPHR
Senior Vice President, Human Resources

Melinda Upton, MS
Vice President, Network Development

Tom Walsh, MBA
Vice President, Inpatient Operations and Analytics, Planning, Strategy and Improvement

Clinical & Research Department Leadership

Tracy Batchelor, MD, MPH
Chair, Department of Neurology
Martin A. Samuels Professor of Neurology

James Brink, MD
Chair, Department of Radiology

Ennio A. Chiocca, MD, PhD
Chair, Department of Neurosurgery
Harvey W. Cushing Professor of Neurosurgery

Gerard M. Doherty, MD
Chair, Department of Surgery
The Crowley Family Distinguished Chair in the Department of Surgery
Moseley Professor of Surgery

Daphne Haas-Kogan, MD
Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology
Willem and Corrie Hees Family Professor of Radiation Oncology

Hadine Joffe, MD
Interim Chair, Department of Psychiatry
Paula Johnson, MD, Professor of Psychiatry in the Field of Women’s Health

James D. Kang, MD
Chair, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Thomas S. Thornhill, MD, and Karen N. Thornhill Professor of Orthopedic Surgery

Adam S. Kibel, MD
Chair, Department of Urology
DiNovi Family Distinguished Chair in Urology
Elliott Carr Cutler Professor of Surgery

Thomas S. Kupper, MD
Chair, Department of Dermatology
Thomas B. Fitzpatrick Professor of Dermatology

Bruce Levy, MD
Chair, Department of Medicine
Soma Weiss, MD, Distinguished Chair in Medicine
Parker B. Francis Professor of Medicine

David Louis, MD
Chair, Department of Pathology

Nawal Nour, MD, MPH
Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Beatrice L. Pitcher, MD, Distinguished Chair in Obstetrics and Gynecology
Kate Macy Ladd Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology

James P. Rathmell, MD, MS
Chair, Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine
Leroy D. Vandam Professor of Anaesthesia

Michael VanRooyen, MD, MPH
Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
J. Stephen Bohan Professor of Emergency Medicine

Joanne Wolfe, MD
Chair, Department of Pediatrics

Ross D. Zafonte, DO
Chair, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, President of Spaulding Rehabilitation

Board of Trustees


Giles Boland, MD, FACR
Miceal Chamberlin
John Connaughton
Zara Cooper, MD
Megan Craigen
Gerard M. Doherty, MD
Deborah C. Enos
Anne Finucane, Vice Chair
John Fish, Chair
Daphne Haas-Kogan, MD
Karen Hale
Linda Hill
Albert A. Holman III
Robert Huckman, PhD
Karen Kaplan
Steven M. Kaye
Josh Kraft
Josie Martinez
Nawal Nour, MD, MPH
Mark Nunnelly
James Taiclet
Lanny Thorndike, Vice Chair
Martin J. Walsh
Pratt Wiley
Gwill E. York, Vice Chair


Michael A. Bell
Jack Connors Jr.
Gretchen S. Fish
G. Marshall Moriarty, Esq.
Neil W. Wallace

All references to named professors refer to professorships held at Harvard Medical School.

Support us.

Make a gift to support medical innovation, training, and breakthroughs.